Dye sensitized solar cell analysis

• Is it possible to use the Cheapstat in a two electrode mode to determine the I-V curve of a dye sensitized solar cell. I am new to this and if anyone has some suggestions it would be helpful.

• Maybe - what sort of voltage and current range would you need for this? With the stock feedback resistors in the transimpedance amplifier the current ranges for the cheapstat are +/10uA and +/-50uA. I'm not very familiar with this application, but looking up some sample I-V curves online I see currents in the 100-600uA range which would probably be too high for the cheapstat. It is possible to modify the current range by changing the resistors for the transimpedance amplifier. This would involve replacing one or more surface mount resistors.

• Thanks for the information. I probably need a 100micro amp range. But if a resistor change can do it, it might be worth a try.

• On the Cheapstat schematic there is a jumper labeled I-V Converter. Would placing a resistance here (parallel to the 165k) increase the current limit of the TIA? Any problems with this ? eg adding 165k would give a 100micro amp limit. Or am I wrong here.

• @tmccaffr I think this would work. See the image below.

alt text

Resistors R9 and R12 set the current ranges for the transimpedance amplifier. Depending on the setting of switch3 (in firmware) you have either R12 alone for the transimpedance amplifier or R9 and R12 in parallel. The I-V jumper, which you mention, is in correct position. A resistor you put across this jumper will be in parallel with the other feedback resistors - so by adding a resistor you could reduce the sensitivity of the amplifier.

• Is it possible to up the range to around 0 to 70mA? If so, what resistance would I use?

• @tmccaffr Hi Will,