Installing the Multiplexer Expansion Board

• Hello! I'm very new with Rodeostat, but I'm interested in connecting my newly purchased multiplexer expansion board to my existing Rodeostat. I already checked out the hardware guide and getting started guide. I'm a bit confused, though, in one part of the "Getting Started Guide": that is, how to connect the +/-12V power on the multiplexer to the Rodeostat since my Rodeostat indicates +/- 15 V on its board and has no pre-installed pins. Is my Rodeostat compatible with the multiplexer? Or what modifications would you recommend so I could install the multiplexer expansion board?

Thanks!

• @bucoloco

Yes, you can connect the +/-15V on the rodeostat to the +/-12V on the multiplexer.

Earlier revisions of the Rodeostat used a +/-15V DC-DC converter to provide the power rails for the op amps on the Rodeostat. Whereas, more recent revisions us a +/-12V DC-DC converter. The multiplexer is labeled to match the more recent versions of the Rodeostat. However, the multiplexer will operate fine on +/-15V.

• yes, it definetely it is compatible

• A multiplexer is a system of multiple inputs and just one output to receive signals coming from multiple acquisition networks. The device transfers all input signals to a microprocessor, which receives and processes the data, transmits it to the output devices, and controls the system as a whole.

With multiplexing, a measuring system is able to sequentially channel multiple signals to a single digital converter, thereby providing a low-cost means of increasing the number of channels of the system. A multiplexer consists of a set of switches and provides a significant cost reduction by making use of just one A/D converter for multiple inputs. As such, a multiplexer may be considered a circuit or device that makes it possible to share the available capacity of a single connection between multiple transmission channels.